Malayalam (pronounced /mæləˈjɑːləm/; മലയാളം, malayāḷam ?, IPA: [mɐləjaːɭəm]), is a language spoken in India predominantly in the state of Kerala. It is one of the 22 scheduled languages of Indiawith official language status in the state of Kerala and the union territories of Lakshadweep andPondicherry. It belongs to the Dravidian family of languages, and was spoken by 33 million people in 2001. Malayalam is also spoken in the Nilgiris district, Kanyakumari district and Coimbatore ofTamil Nadu, Dakshina Kannada, Mangalore and Kodagu districts of Karnataka.[3][4][5][6]  

Read More »